Return to Headlines

Burleson ISD Teacher Nominated for National LifeChanger of the Year Award

Hughes Middle School Science teacher Gwen Moravec has been nominated for the 2019-2020 national LifeChanger of the Year award.
Moravec was nominated by her colleague, Kristie Riddle, for the high standard of excellence she sets.
"Gwen is inspirational to our students and dedicated to our school," said Riddle. "Gwen has also made a huge impact on me as a co-worker and new teacher to Hughes Middle School. I could tell immediately that she leads by example and abides by all rules to better our school environment."
Moravec works one-on-one with students and collaborates with them in the co-teach Science classroom. They enjoy working with her because of her bubbly attitude, passion for teaching, and nurturing personality. Students know and feel that Moravec cares about their learning and their future, which creates a positive learning environment and sets the standard on campus.
"I believe Gwen is a LifeChanger," Riddle said.

To view Ms. Moravec’s LifeChanger of the Year nominee profile, or to nominate someone, visit


About LifeChanger of the Year from National Life Group Foundation
LifeChanger of the Year recognizes and rewards the very best K-12 educators and school district employees across the United States who are making a difference in the lives of students by exemplifying excellence, positive influence and leadership.
Seventeen individual LifeChanger of the Year awards will be given during the 2019-2020 school year.
• Grand Prize Winner – will receive $10,000 to be shared with their school/district.
• (4) Grand Prize Finalists – will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school/district.
• (10) LifeChanger Award Winners – will receive $3,000 to be shared with their school/district.
• Spirit Award Winner – This award is given to the nominee whose community demonstrates the most support for their nomination. The winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school/district.
• Spotlight Award Winner – This award is given to a nominee in a specific discipline each year. For 2019-20, the Spotlight Award will be given to a nominee who has made a proven impact on school safety.  The winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school or district.
Winners are announced via surprise award ceremonies held at their schools. The grand prize finalists will also be honored at a national awards ceremony in April 2020 in Florida, where the Grand Prize Winner will be revealed.
Winners are chosen by a selection committee comprised of former winners and education professionals. Nominees must be K-12 teachers or school district employees. To be considered for an award, nominees must
•         Make a positive impact in the lives of students
•         Enhance their school or district’s atmosphere, culture and pride
•         Demonstrate exemplary leadership at the school and/or district level
•         Possess a proven record of professional excellence
•         Show commitment to building a nurturing environment that supports learning
•         Adhere to the highest moral and ethical standards